the anecdotal christian

HELP WANTED

In Most Recent Post on April 19, 2011 at 6:37 PM

I’m not used to blogging…so if I don’t follow some recognized protocol then oh well…as you get to know me you’ll understand that I probably won’t get much better at following the rules as time passes.

This first effort is to introduce myself and to let you know that I am an Anecdotal Christian. Even though my ‘handle’ would suggest that I am THE Anecdotal Christian, as we move forward hopefully I will be only one of many voices in our community. We already know that there have certainly been numerous story telling Christians in the past so if I have to be defined just file me away somewhere between those who came before and those who want to join in the fun now and in the future.

What I really want you to do is to keep up with this post because it is my intention to attract many folks who have stories to tell about their Faith and how it has increased by having God show up in their lives. Today’s stories are more than just relevant they are inspiring, possibly even instructional with lessons to be learned and have as much meaning to modern day Christians as other recounts of events that happened in another time.

These anecdotes show that God loves us so much that He was not only paying attention and intervening in the time of Abraham but He is paying attention and intervening in lives today. We just need to hook up and tell the world about our stories because most folks already know about Abraham.

You may be thinking that God hasn’t shown up in your life. You may feel that as hard as you try you have not experienced Him first hand or heard His voice. I submit that this is not the case. As we journey together and begin to collect stories from others around the world you will soon be able to lay your experiences, your stories, over those of others to see that you are not alone. Whether or not you recognized it at the time, you have experienced God. Through these combined stories you will become more familiar with what this looks like and then you will experience and hear His voice even more.

That’s an exciting prospect isn’t it? The idea that the God who created everything you can visibly see and all the things that you can’t see or could even imagine, that same God wants to have a relationship with you. Whoa…but you don’t have to take my word for it. All you need to do is ask for help…close your eyes and with your mouth or inside your heart just ask the Holy Spirit to come to you right now and show the way.

I ask for His help with this project and with His help that this site will provide for you inspiring stories that empower and confirm.

If you need a visible reminder (as I do a lot of the time) make a little hand written sign and tape it to your bathroom mirror or place it on the kitchen window sill.  All it needs to say is:

HELP WANTED

HOLY SPIRIT, apply within

Read the sign and He will come.

Be an Anecdotal Christian, email me your stories. They don’t need to be fancy or even well written…all they need to be is true. The length can be short or long but give me enough background of what happened to set up the story and then just write it down as if you were telling it to a friend. I will not use your name if the story shows up here in this blog and if you feel more comfortable by changing any names then do that.

Keep in touch and don’t forget your

HELP WANTED sign.

john@theanecdoltalchristian.com

Leave a Reply

